Search Menu


Sustainable Development Goals (2015-2030)

On 1 January 2016, the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development — adopted by world leaders in September 2015 at an historic UN Summit — officially came into force.  Over the next fifteen years, with these new Goals that universally apply to all, countries will mobilize efforts to end all forms of poverty, fight inequalities and tackle climate change, while ensuring that no one is left behind.

Read more

Millennium Development Goals (2000-2015)

In September 2000, 189 member states of the United Nations came together at the Millennium Summit and adopted the Millennium Declaration, including commitments to poverty eradication, development, and protecting the environment. Many of these commitments were drawn from the agreements and resolutions of world conferences and summits organized by the United Nations during the preceding decade. A year later the UN Secretary General’s Road Map for implementing the Millennium Declaration formally unveiled eight goals, supported by 18 quantified and time-bound targets and 48 indicators, which became known as the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). The MDGs focus the efforts of the world community on achieving significant, measurable improvements in people’s lives by the year 2015. They establish targets and yardsticks for measuring results—not just for developing countries but for the rich countries that help fund development programs and for the multilateral institutions that help countries implement them.

See the visualization!

Subscribe for the latest news and updates:

Email *